Happy New Year to GrantWatch readers! Here is some light reading for the holiday weekend.

Grantmakers In Health (GIH) has announced that six new members have been elected to its board. They are Ned Calonge, president and CEO of the Colorado Trust; Nichole Maher, president and CEO of Northwest Health Foundation, located in Portland, Oregon; Elena Marks, president and CEO of the Episcopal Health Foundation, located in Houston, Texas; Patricia (“Pat”) Matthews, president and CEO of the Northern Virginia Health Foundation, located in Alexandria, Virginia; Donald Moulds, executive vice president for programs at the Commonwealth Fund; and David Rousseau, vice president and executive director of health policy media and technology at the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. These six high-level foundation staffers will officially join the GIH board in March.

The California Wellness Foundation’s board has elected three new members, who will begin serving in January. They include Xóchitl Castañeda, who has worked since 2001 as director of the Health Initiative of the Americas, a program of the University of California, Berkeley, School of Public Health. In addition, she is co-associate director of the University of California Global Health Institute’s Center of Expertise on Migration and Health and codirector of the University of California, Davis, Migration and Health Research Center. She is a medical anthropologist by training.

Read “Willingness to Pay for Cross-Border Health Insurance between the United States and Mexico,” a January 2008 Health Affairs article coauthored by Castañeda.

Arnold X.C. Perkins is another new CalWellness board member. Now a consultant and speaker on various subjects, including HIV/AIDS, Perkins is a former director of the Alameda County, California, Public Health Department. Another statewide funder, the California Endowment, awarded Perkins its one-time Health Equity Founders Award and created in his honor the Arnold X. Perkins Award for Outstanding Health Equity Practice.

The third new CalWellness board member is Pamela J. Simms-Mackey, associate director of graduate medical education at the University of California, San Francisco’s (UCSF’s) Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland and an attending physician at Benioff Children’s Primary Care Center. In addition, she is an assistant clinical professor at UCSF’s School of Medicine.

Claire Chang has joined the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota Foundation as a senior program officer. She will be focusing on “furthering the Foundation’s commitment to increasing health equity in Minnesota,” according to the foundation’s website. Before coming to the foundation, Chang was an associate vice president at Minnesota Philanthropy Partners. She holds a master’s degree in philanthropy and development from Saint Mary’s University, in Winona, Minnesota.

Stephanie Cuskley is the new CEO of the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust. Previously, she was CEO of NPower, “a national nonprofit that mobilizes the tech community and provides individuals, nonprofits and schools with opportunities to build tech skills and achieve their potential,” according to a November press release. Cuskley succeeds John R. Ettinger, who was the first CEO of the Helmsley Trust. Health programs funded by the trust include Rural Healthcare (grants only awarded in seven Upper Midwest states) and Type 1 Diabetes.

Amy Latham has been promoted to vice president of philanthropy at the Colorado Health Foundation. Previously portfolio director for its Health Care and Health Coverage funding areas, Latham has worked at the foundation since 2008.

Yvette Mendez, formerly grant programs officer for the Rhode Island Foundation’s Health sector, has been named the deputy director of the Rhode Island Department of Human Services. She started her new job in November.

Michael Monopoli and Brian Souza have each been promoted at the DentaQuest Foundation. Monopoli, formerly director of policy and programs, is now vice president of foundation programs. Souza, formerly managing director, is now vice president of strategy and operations. The DentaQuest Foundation, a national funder, is the philanthropic arm of DentaQuest, a dental benefits administrator.

Read a popular post on Health Affairs Blog, GrantWatch section, titled “It Is Time To Make Oral Health An Integral Part Of Primary Care,” by Brenda Sharpe, Michael Monopoli, and Laura Smith, June 25.

ICYMI: Honors and Awards

Physician Arnold P. Gold received the United Hospital Fund’s Distinguished Community Service Award in October. The fund chose him for the award because he launched “what is now an international movement that is changing the culture of medical education and practice, and making a profound impact on thousands of health care professionals” and on patients and their families, according to a press release. Gold, who cofounded the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, came up with the idea of the White Coat Ceremony, which started in 1993 with a new class of medical students at Columbia University. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation helped expand the ceremony to other medical schools. The Gold Foundation works with health care professionals “in training and in practice to instill a culture of respect, dignity and compassion for patients and professionals,” according to its website. The Gold Foundation derives most of its money from donations.

Former Colorado Gov. Richard Lamm (D) received the John K. Iglehart Award for Leadership in Health Policy at the 2015 Colorado Health Symposium, which is hosted by the Colorado Health Foundation. Lamm directs the Institute for Public Policy Studies at the University of Denver. The Iglehart award, named for the founding editor of Health Affairs journal, “recognizes a person whose wisdom, involvement and leadership consistently advanced the cause of health and health care for the people of Colorado,” according to a press release. Lamm has been the longest-serving (three terms) Colorado governor.

Read Lamm’s Health Affairs Narrative Matters essay from fifteen years ago: “Doctors Have Patients, Governors Have Citizens,” September/October 2000 issue. How have things in the health care system changed since then? Are some things still the same?

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation announced its Class of 2015 fellows on September 29. The fellows were each chosen to receive what is called a “genius grant” in common parlance. Each fellow receives $625,000. The 2015 fellows include environmental health advocate Gary Cohen, who is cofounder and president of Health Care Without Harm, which is “leading the global movement for environmentally responsible healthcare,” according to its website; and Heidi Williams, an economist at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). The foundation describes Williams as “an economist unraveling the causes and consequences of innovation in health care markets.” She is Class of 1957 Career Development Assistant Professor in MIT’s Department of Economics.

Keith Paul Klugman, director for pneumonia at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, is among the newly elected regular members of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine), according to an October 19 press release.

Request for Proposals (RFP)

The ABIM Foundation and the Council of Medical Specialty Societies urge physicians who focus on providing patient care to apply for a two-year grant from their new Professionalism Challenge Grant Program. The program will fund four projects designed and led by practicing doctors “who have promising ideas for overcoming an obstacle” preventing them from performing their work while following the principles and professional commitments defined in the 2002 publication, Medical Professionalism in the New Millennium: A Physician Charter. Four $25,000 grants will be awarded. The deadline for applying for a grant is January 19! For more details, read the RFP.